GRG Complaints Process

Complaints Process for customers in GRG

GRG complaints process to close to new complaints on 22 October 2018 (ROI customers on 31 December 2018)


On 20 July RBS announced that the GRG complaints process will close to new complaints made by UK customers on 22 October 2018. All eligible UK customers have been written to, and provided with three months notice of the closure. Our customers in the Republic of Ireland were first informed of the GRG complaints process two months after those customers in the UK, and were written to on 28 September 2018 to also provide them with three months notice of the closure (31 December 2018).

The complaints process was opened to UK customers in November 2016 when the bank provisioned £400m for payments to customers and to cover the running costs of both the complaints process and the Automatic Refund of Complex Fees. The Automatic Refund process was completed in July 2017, with offers worth £115m made to 3,500 customers.

You can read our full statement on the closure to new complaints for UK customers here and and for ROI customers here.

Our weekly progress report continues to detail our progress with managing complaints and their outcomes, alongside some examples of outcomes that highlight a range of the conclusions reached on complaints so far. 

 

Consequential Loss Principles

Some customers whose complaints are upheld, may feel that they suffered a consequential loss which has not been adequately compensated for in the bank’s offer. In such circumstances they may submit a claim for consequential loss.

You can read our consequential loss principles here.

 

WEEKLY PROGRESS REPORT

Click here to view our weekly progress report, which includes complaint outcome and offer analysis.                                                             
 

GRG COMPLAINTS PROCESS & PRINCIPLES

Contains a variety of information, including; our principles, FAQs on both our principles and the complaints process, customer journey through the complaints process, consequential loss principles, guidance and FAQs, our commitment to DISP, and an explanation of the bank’s Restructuring business.

HOW CAN I TELL IF I SHOULD MAKE A COMPLAINT? / COMPLAINT FORM

Advice on how you can tell if you should make a complaint, the types of complaints we are seeing, and a link to our complaint form.

 

QUARTERLY REVIEW

Here you will find our latest update on the GRG complaints process and the refund of complex fees, alongside FAQs on both the automatic refund of complex fees and our announcement in November 2016,and some examples of complaint outcomes.

HOW TO CONTACT THE GRG COMPLAINTS PROCESS

You can contact us by phone, email, or letter - click here for details.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         
                           
                         

HOW TO MAKE AN APPEAL

                                                                                                                                      This section contains advice for eligible customers on making an appeal to the Independent Third Party on their complaint outcome, including; the role of the ITP, Quarterly Reports on his assurance and appeals roles in relation to the GRG complaints process, and FAQs including advice on making an appeal.      

Set Tab for lightbox